The Legend of Tarzan (2016) Review

Rating: 5.5/10

The Legend of Tarzan is the 2016 action movie directed by David Yates (Harry Potter 5-6-7) and adapted by Adam Cozed and Craig Brewer from the famous novel by Edgar Rice Burroughs.

Alexander Skarsgård is John Clayton III, living in London with download-21his wife Jane (Margot Robbie). For diplomatic reasons they need to go back to Congo, or better he is the one who has to go but she is adamant she wants to join him and meet her childhood friends. Needless to say, adventures await.

56c045bc27d97a2a03bcc8ba522673acb99239132894a8416d1d17fff1815447Now, the good thing about this movie is that is definitely different from what I expected. I thought it would have been another version of the well-known story – and to be honest it would have been really hard to top what Disney did back in 1999 with Phil Collins and everything. So it`s good that Warner produced this as a sequel. Not quite sure it can become a classic, but I appreciate the effort.

Another thing I really liked is the cinematography by Henry Braham (Guardians of The Galaxy, The Golden Compass). There is this one scene in Congo, where John and Jane are sleeping in Jane`s old house and there is this decadent canopy bed with an overgrown ivy that crept in from a fissure in the adjacent corner of the wall, it is genuinely breathtaking. I cannot quite find a still, but as soon as I do I will post it.

Finally, the acting. As I made quite clear I love everything Scandinavian, so I am a bit biased on Mr Skarsgård. He is good and he plays a convincing adult Tarzan. On the other LEGEND OF TARZANside, I am not the biggest fan of Margot Robbie because even though she is objectively beautiful, when she is in a movie I cannot seem to be able to go in the zone, I always know that she is acting and that what I am looking at is not real. I love Christoph Waltz though, so that is kind of evened up, I guess.

All in all The Legend of Tarzan is a nice family movie, but something we probably won`t be talking about in 10 years.

Leave a Reply

